And so it Begins

(The title is a homage to a few facebook friends who have posted the same status… seems appropriate)

This term, being the final semester of my undergraduate study, seems to me like it will require a lot of discipline on my part. Being someone who carries her planner everywhere, writes down everything she may (or may not) forget, and has a tendency to organize to the point where execution is made simple… this semester could either cause a meltdown or be unprecedentedly prolific. Let’s hope for the latter.

I have very few hours I am taking, but the courses I am taking will require a lot of hard work (which I am willing to put in). Graphic Design II will keep me up at night. It’s not Ray’s fault. It’s not my fault. It’s just how it’s going to be. I have a tendency to think and think these graphic things to the point where I feel like it can only come together (magically) during the witching hour. I’m fine with it.

Dr. Seymour asked me yesterday if I am one of those types that doesn’t sleep (I suppose she was judging me based on writing furiously in my planner as she spoke to me about our projects we will work on over the course of the semester). I smiled and replied that I manage. She has me working on things for ArtsFest in Conway, which may or may not include a redesign of the event’s website (I hope it does. I love web design).  Then we’ll be working on inventory for the art on campus as well as working with the artists in residence and likely distributing materials campuswide. I get to be a little errand girl this semester and I couldn’t be happier. The busier I am the better my things tend to be.

Printmaking II should be good as well. I ended up doing a lot of the Printmaking II techniques in Printmaking I because I was physically unable to perform the woodcutting (due to my untimely aquisition of carpal tunnel syndrome likely caused by copious amounts of PC gaming and IMing and blogging and coding over the years). But Bowman seems to think I can probably incorporate the work I do in Print II to be relevant in my 4388 (advanced studio). I hope so.

I haven’t been to Portfolio III yet, but so far the portfolio classes have consisted of a lot of preparation for one big project or presentation… so this class will likely be a lot of preparation for my senior show and (hopefully) things to follow.

My 4388– the class I have been looking forward to since I heard those number jumbled together the first time at UCA– finally has taken some direction in the past few nights. I have been thinking and stumbling over ideas about media and presentation. All I really knew was that I wanted to create environments that suggested my own world… like viewing my art and feeling as though one was sucked into a different realm. Such examples of the total immersion of which I speak are Shaun Tan and Tim Burton. Perhaps different imagery and color palettes, perhaps different characters and formal elements, but certainly the concept of creating a mood and an atmosphere and uniting the elements that I wish to incorporate. Since this will be my biggest project this semester (in addition to creating both a design portfolio to look for a job and a portfolio for admission into an MFA program), I will likely have plenty of updates of the work I’m doing on this in photographs. I should be able to blog about the other work I’m doing as well… this is just one huge project and it seems like a great opportunity to document my progress.

I’m also taking World Literature II, which seems completely unrelated to everything else I’m doing… which seems exceedingly cohesive in my eyes. So created is a balance, I suppose.

One more thing: I graduate on Hannukah. Mazel Tov, Hayley Suzanne.

About hayley suzanne

art, math, being twenty-something… that kind of thing.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And so it Begins

  1. tyler says:

    best of luck this semester. looking forward to seeing your output.

Leave a Reply

